The Concord Free Public Library is the keeper of literary Concord’s past and present. The Library itself was built in 1873 and resides in the heart of Concord, Massachusetts between Main Street and Sudbury Road. A grand building framed majestically by 150+ year old trees, this Library is incredibly vibrant. A living, breathing institution it prides itself on presently receiving 800 people per day on average between its core location and its West Concord branch. The library in a very literal sense preserves the Transcendental movement of the 19th century with original manuscripts and letters from Thoreau, Alcott, Emerson, Margaret Fuller and Elizabeth Peabody among other notables. Partial original manuscripts for Little Women and Little Men can also be found in the Concord Library’s Special Collections. For any History and/or Literary Enthusiast a stop in Historic Concord must include a walk through the doors of The Concord Free Public Library. Housing a priceless collection of oil paintings, marble sculpture and original manuscripts, this Library is part art museum, part curator of Concord’s literary heritage and part interactive community focal point for the Townspeople. This is not a Library on respirator as sadly, many are, but a valued and valuable centerpiece of this exceptional Town.